Introducing Podify : For converting your Blogs into podcast

Photo by Stanley Li on Unsplash

Introducing Podify : For converting your Blogs into podcast

Backdrop

I've always wanted to build something and participate in hashnode hackathons but I got stuck in never ending cycle of perfection, which led me to procrastinate my project but not this time.

One more confession, I didn't had any idea like what I'm going to build or What is Amplify till 15th september, I started out late but v2 of this will be more promising, thanks to Amplify that I'm able to complete it before the deadline.

Introduction

So have you ever felt too lazy to read or just don't have any time to read or maybe you want someone to read it out for you until you get to sleep. Well I felt all of these, so I created Podify that can convert your blogs into a podcast which you can easily download or stream in your web browser.

Live: Podify

Implementation

Step 1

Firstly we will take a blog URL from user and then extract the Text data from it. For this I've used free version of Extractor API, they provide good extracted data along with other page details.

Step 2

Converting the extracted data to speech, For this I've used Amazon Polly which is the same service Hashnode uses for its audio blogs. With the help of amazon amplify its becomes somewhat easy to manage various aws services and use them in the webapp but it lacks reference resource, I will be coming up with more detailed and simple version of this app.

Step 3

Creating UI and displaying the recorded audio, for frontend I've used figma to create my components and with the help of Amplify converted them to react code.

Conclusion

There is a lot to discuss and lot to cover and I'm really short on time, Thanks for reading.

#AWSAmplifyHackathon , Completed finally XO now I need to go build is failing...